Rhodes awarded three more SARChI Chairs

News / Actualités


Rhodes awarded three more SARChI Chairs

Recent appointment of SARChI Chairs Prof. Lotz-Sisitka, Prof. Ruth Simbao, and Dr Adrienne Edkins


SARChI was established by the Department of Science and Technology (DST) and the National Research Foundation (NRF). It is a strategic intervention of the South African government designed to attract and retain excellence in research and innovation at South African universities. In particular, the programme is aimed at increasing national research capacity, both through the creation of the chairs themselves and through the development of postgraduate students, the generation of new knowledge makers. It is also intended to support the realization of South Africa’s transformation into a knowledge economy in which the generation of knowledge translates into socio-economic benefits.

For more information


Associated university(ies) : 
Rhodes University